Skip to content

Election Night November 6, 2018 What to Look For

The polls close at different times on Election Day when results become available.  Here is a list of when polls throughout the county will close.  Please note that some states have two time zones and we have listed their closing on the earlier hour.

We have used some codes to help you figure it out.
Times listed are Eastern Standard Time EST, so while polls start to close at 6:00pm in the East Coast, it will be 3:00pm on the West Coast.  For each state we have designated which time zones they are in, E Eastern Time, C Central Time, M Mountain Time, Pacific Time, Hawaiian Time and Alaskan Time.

Poll Closing Times 

We have used Politico election predictions to list governor, senate, and house races. that are in contention.

Please be aware that this is an inexact science, but you may get some hints as to how the election is going by keeping this list handy.  If on each of the hours the music plays and they call races for your candidates, it may be a good night.  If however nothing is called on the hour, it may mean that the races are tighter than you hoped and it will take longer to know the results of the 2018 election.

* indicates incumbent

6:00pm ESTGovernorSenateHouse
Indiana (E & C) Joe Donnelly (D)*
Mike Braun (R)
District 2
Jackie Walorski (R)*
Mel Hall (D)
Kentucky (E &C)District 6
Andy Barr (R)*
Amy McGrath (D)

7:00pm ESTGovernorSenateHouse
Florida (E & C)Andrew Gillum (D)
Ron DeSantis (R)
Ben Nelson (D)*
Rick Scott (R)
District 6
Nancy Soderberg (D)
Michael Waltz (R)

District 15
Kristen Carlson (D)
Ross Spano (R)

District 18
Brian Mast (R)*
Lauren Baer (D)

District 26
Carlos Curbelo (R)*
Debbie Mucarsel-Powell (D)

District 27
Donna Shalala (D)
Maria Salazar (R)
Georgia (E)Stacey Abrams (D)
Brian Kemp (R)
District 6
Karen Handel (R)*
Lucy McBath (D)

District 7
Rob Woodall (R)*
Carolyn Bourdeaux (D)
South Carolina (E)District 1
Joe Cunningham (D)
Kate Arrington (R)
Vermont (E)Phil Scott (R)*
Christine Hallquist (D)
Virginia (E)District 2
Scott Taylor (R)*
Elaine Luria (D)

District 5
Leslie Cockburn (D)
Denver Riggleman (R)

District 7
Dave Brat (R)*
Abigail Spanberger (D)

District 10
Barbara Comstock (R)*
Jennifer Wexton (D)
7:30 pm ESTGovernorSenateHouse
North Carolina (E)District 2
George Holding (R)*
Linda Coleman (D)

District 9
Dan McCready (D)
Mark Harris (R)

District 13
Ted Budd (R)*
Kathy Manning (D)
Ohio Richard Cordray (D)
Mike DeWine (R)
District 1
Steve Chabot (R)*
Aftab Pureval (D)

District 12
Troy Balderson (R)*
Danny O’Connor (D)
West Virginia (E)Joe Manchin (D)*
Patrick Morrisey (R)
District 3
Richard Ojeda (D)*
Carol Miller (R)
8:00pm ESTGovernorSenateHouse
Alabama (C)
Connecticut (E)Ned Lamont (D)
Bob Stefanowski (R)
District of Columbia (E)
Delaware (E)
Illinois (E & C)District 6
Peter Roskam (R)*
Sean Casten (D)

District 12
Mike Bost (R)*
Brendan Kelly (D)

District 13
Rodney Davis (R)*
Betsy Dirksen Londrigan (D)

District 14
Randy Hultgren (R)*
Lauren Underwood (D)
Kansas (C&M)Laura Kelly (D)
Kris Kobach(R)
District 2
Paul Davis (D)
Steve Watkins(R)

District 3
Kevin Yoder (R)*
Sharice Davids (D)
Maine (E)Janet Mills (D)
Shawn Moody (R)
District 2
Bruce Poliquin (R)*
Jared Golden (D)
Maryland (E)
Massachusetts (E)
Michigan (E&C)District 6
Fred Upton (R)*
Matt Longjohn (D)

District 7
Tim Walberg (R)*
Gretchen Driskell (D)

District 8
Mike Bishop(R)*
Elissa Slotkin (D)

District 11
Haley Stevens (D)
Lena Epstein (R)
Mississippi (C)
Missouri (C)Claire McCaskill (D)*
Josh Hawley (R)
District 2
Ann Wagner (R)*
Cort VanOstran (D)
New Hampshire (E)Chris Sununu (R)*
Molly Kelly (D)
District 1
Chris Pappas (D)
Eddie Edwards (R)
New Jersey (E)Bob Menendez (D)*
Bob Hugin (R)
District 3
Tom MacArthur (R)*
Andy Kim (D)

District 7
Leonard Lance (R)*
Tom Matinowski (D)

District 11
Mike Sherrill (D)
Jay Webber (R)
Oklahoma (C)Drew Edmondson (D)
Kevin Stitt (R)

Pennsylvania (E)District 1
Scott Wallace (D)
Brian Fitzpatrick (R)

District 7
Susan Wild (D)
Marty Northstein (R)

District 10
Scott Perry (R)*
George Scott (D)

District 16
Mike Kelly (R)*
Ron DiNicola (D)
Rhodes Island (E)Gina Raimondo (D)*
Allan Fung (R)
South Dakota (C&M)Billie Sutton (D)
Kristi Noem (R)
Tennessee (E&C)Phil Bredesen (D)
Marsha Blackburn (R)
Texas (C&M)Ted Cruz (R)*
Beto O’Rourke (D)
District 7
John Culberson (R)*
Lizzie Fletcher (D)

District 23
Will Hurd (R)*
Gina Jones (D)

District 32
Pete Sessions (R)*
Colin Allred (D)
9:00pm ESTGovernorSenateHouse
Arizona (M)Kyrsten Sinema (D)
Martha McSally (R)
District 1
Tom O’Halleran (D)*
Wendy Rogers (R)

District 2
Ann Kirkpatrick (D)
Lea Marquez Peterson (R)
Colorado (M)Jared Polis (D)
Walker Stapleton (R)
District 6
Mike Coffman (R)*
Jason Crow (D)
Louisiana (C)
Minnesota (C)District 1
Dan Feehan (D)
Jim Hagdorn (R)

District 2
Jason Lewis (R)*
Angie Craig (D)

District 3
Erik Paulsen (R)*
Dean Phillips (D)

District 8
Jon Radinovich (D)
Peter Stauber (R)

Nebraska (C&M)District 2
Don Bacon (R)*
Kara Eastman (D)
New Mexico (M)District 2
Xochiti Torres Small (D)
Yvette Herrell (R)
New York (E)District 11
Dan Donovan (R)*
Max Rose (D)

District 19
John Faso (R)*
Antonio Delgado (D)

District 22
Claudia Tenney (R)*
Anthony Brindisi (D)

District 24
John Katko (R)*
Dana Balter

District 27
Chris Collins (R)*
Nate McMurray (D)
Wisconsin (C)Scott Walker (R)*
Tony Evers (D)
District 1
Randy Bryce (D)
Bryan Steil (R)

District 6
Glenn Grothman (R)*
Dan Kohl (D)
Wyoming (M)
10:00pm ESTGovernorSenateHouse
Idaho (M)
Iowa (C)Kim Reynolds (R)*
Fred Hubbell
District 1
Rod Blum (R)*
Abby Finkenauer (D)

District 3
David Young (R)*
Cindy Axne (D)

District 4
Steve King (R)*
J.D. Scholten (D
Montana (M)Jon Tester (D)*
Matt Rosendale (R)
Greg Gianforte (R)*
Kathleen Williams (D)
Nevada (M&P)Steve Sisolak (D)
Adam Laxalt (R)
Dean Heller (R)*
Jacky Rosen (D)
District 3
Susie Lee (D)
Danny Tarkanian (R)
Oregon (M)Kate Brown (D)*
Knute Buehler (R)
Utah (M)District 4
Mia Love (R)*
Ben McAdams (D)
11:00pm ESTGovernorSenateHouse
California (P)District 7
Ami Bera (D)*
Andrew Grant (R)

District 10
Jeff Denham (R)*
Josh Harder (D)

District 21
David Valadao (R)*
TJ Cox (D)

District 25
Steve Knight (R)*
Katie Hill (D)

District 39
Gil Cisneros (D)
Young Kim (R)

District 45
Katie Porter (D)
Mimi Walters (R)

District 48
Dana Rohrabacher (R)*
Harley Rouda (D)

District 49
Mike Levin (D)
Diane Harkey (R)

District 50
Duncan Hunter (R)*
Ammar Campa-Najjar (D)
Hawaii (H)
Washington (P)District 3
Carolyn Long (D)
Jaime Herrera Beutler (R)

District 5
Cathy McMorris Rodgers (R)*
Lisa Brown (D)
12:00 midnight ESTGovernorSenateHouse
Alaska (A)Mark Begich (D)
Mike Dunleavy (R)
Don Young (R)*
Alyse Galvin (D)